2019 Award Winners

The CAP Foundation recognizes and rewards current and future leaders in pathology. For 2019, the foundation is proud to acknowledge the contributions of an outstanding group of award recipients for their work in advancing pathology and promoting our shared values.

Gene And Jean Herbek Humanitarian Award

The Gene and Jean Herbek Humanitarian Award, introduced in 2011, is named in honor of Gene N. Herbek, MD, FCAP, a past president of the CAP who brought the first See, Test & Treat program to Native American women in South Dakota, as well as for his wife, Jean, who shares his commitment. The award honors a pathologist leader who has made innovative and unique contributions to advance the See, Test & Treat program.

2019 Gene And Jean Herbek Humanitarian Award Recipient

Dina Rustom Mody, MD, FCAP
Houston Methodist Hospital

Leadership Development Award

Among the CAP Foundation’s most enduring programs, the Leadership Development Award introduces young pathologists to the specialty’s issues and leadership opportunities. Providing a stipend toward travel expenses to attend the CAP Residents Forum meetings or Policy Meeting, the award enhances each recipient’s education and experience as they become immersed in the issues that confront the specialty. This immersion illustrates the necessity of maintaining a patient-centered practice.

2019 Leadership Development Award Recipients

Alain Cagaanan, DO
University of Wisconsin Hospitals and Clinics
Madison, WI

Daniel Forsythe, DO
University of Wisconsin Hospitals and Clinics
Madison, WI

Mariam Molani, DO
University of Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, NE

Chace Moleta, MD, MS
University of California – San Diego Health
La Jolla, CA

Damodaran, Narayanan, MBBS, PhD
University of Wisconsin Hospitals and Clinics
Madison, WI

Kenechukwu Ojukwu, MD, MPP
Harbor-UCLA Medical Center
Torrance, CA

Jasmine Saleh, MD, MPH
Loyola University Medical Center
Maywood, IL

Informatics Award

This travel award provides CAP Junior Members a stipend to attend informatics-based educational sessions at the CAP Annual Meeting. The field of pathology has experienced dramatic growth in the areas of informatics, clinical applications, standardized reporting and laboratory test utilization, electronic health records, workflow, and patient safety. Experts attribute the growth to external financial and health care pressures. Award recipients will receive exposure to real-world practical applications in the ever-evolving field of informatics at the annual meeting. They will have direct access to industry leaders and a choice of several courses presented by experts in the informatics field. The award is made possible through the generosity of the Dito family and donors to the William R. Dito, MD, Fund for Informatics.

2019 Informatics Award Recipients

Alex Clavijo, MD
Augusta University
Department of Pathology
Augusta, GA

Huiya Huang MD, PhD
Medical College of Wisconsin
Department of Pathology
Milwaukee, WI

Clayton LaValley, MD
University of Vermont Medical Center
Burlington, VT

Mona Wood, MD, PhD
Stanford Hospital & Clinics
Stanford, CA

Medical Student Travel Award

The Medical Student Travel Award is intended to encourage and support medical students showing a strong interest in the specialty of pathology as a career choice. This award provides a stipend toward travel expenses to attend the CAP Annual Meeting, where awardees will gain valuable insight and critical knowledge from experts regarding the field of pathology and career pathways.

2019 Medical Student Travel Award Recipients

Mary Bailey
University of Mississippi Medical Center
Jackson, MS

Grant Fischer
McGovern Medical School at UTHealth
Houston, TX

Precious Fortes
UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine
Los Angeles, CA

Nathaniel Giles
University of Texas Medical Branch
Galveston, TX

Emily Huang
University of Connecticut School of Medicine
Farmington, CT

Clarissa Jordan
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX

Melanie Kwan
Texas A&M University College of Medicine
Houston, TX

Vanessa Nascimento
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
Miami, FL

Jane Persons
University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine
Iowa City, IA

Natalya Ramirez
The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
Galveston, TX

Ashley Scholl
West Virginia University School of Medicine
Morgantown, WV

Vivian Tang
University of California, Davis School of Medicine
Sacramento, CA

More information about the CAP Foundation’s grants and awards, as well as the application process, is available here.