2017 Award Winners

The CAP Foundation recognizes and rewards current and future leaders in pathology. For 2017, the Foundation is proud to acknowledge the contributions of an outstanding group of winners for their work in advancing pathology and promoting our shared values.

Gene And Jean Herbek Humanitarian Award

In 2011, the CAP Foundation introduced the Gene and Jean Herbek Humanitarian Award, an annual award to provide a $20,000 grant to a CAP Fellow who provides leadership in a See, Test & Treat® program. The purpose of the award is to build the impact and extend the reach of the See, Test & Treat program beyond its core services. The Herbek Humanitarian Award is inspired by CAP President Gene N. Herbek, MD, FCAP, who brought the first See, Test & Treat program to Native American women in South Dakota, and by his wife Jean, who shares his commitment.

2017 Gene And Jean Herbek Humanitarian Award Recipient

Mark Suhrland, MD, FCAP

Mark Suhrland, MD, FCAP
Montefiore Medical Center
HPV Vaccine Education

Leadership Development Award

Among the CAP Foundation’s most enduring programs, the Leadership Development Award introduces young pathologists to the specialty’s issues and leadership opportunities. Providing a stipend cover travel expenses to attend the CAP’s Residents Forum meetings or CAP Policy Meeting, the award enhances each recipient’s education and experience as they become immersed in the issues that confront the specialty and illustrate the necessity of maintaining a patient-centered practice.

2017 Leadership Development Award Recipients

Benjamin L. Mazer, MD, MBA

Benjamin L. Mazer, MD, MBA
Yale-New Haven Hospital
New Haven, CT

Ashley K. Volaric, MD

Ashley K. Volaric, MD
University of Virginia
Charlottesville, VA

Laura Warmke, MD

Laura Warmke, MD
Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond, VA

Informatics Award

This travel award (up to $1,200) is open to College of American Pathologists (CAP) Junior Members (pathology residents) to attend informatics-based educational sessions at the CAP’s annual meeting. The field of pathology has experienced dramatic growth in the area of informatics, clinical applications, standardized reporting and laboratory test utilization, electronic health records, workflow, and patient safety. Experts attribute the growth to external financial and health care pressures. Award recipients will receive exposure to real-world, practical applications in the ever-evolving field of informatics at the CAP’s annual meeting. They will have direct access to industry leaders and a choice of several courses presented by experts in the informatics field. The award is made possible through the generosity of the Dito family and donors to the William R. Dito, MD, Fund for Informatics.

2017 Informatics Award Recipients

Thomas Covello, MD

Thomas Covello, MD
Walter Mackenzie Centre, University of Alberta
Edmonton, AB

Rachel Jug, MD, BCh, MAO

Rachel Jug, MB, BCh, BAO
Duke Health
Durham, NC

Timothy B. Walls, MD, MS

Timothy B. Walls, MD, MS
UT Southwestern Medical Center
Dallas, TX

More information about the CAP Foundation’s grants and awards, as well as the application process, is available here.