2018 Award Winners

The CAP Foundation recognizes and rewards current and future leaders in pathology. For 2018, the Foundation is proud to acknowledge the contributions of an outstanding group of winners for their work in advancing pathology and promoting our shared values.

Gene And Jean Herbek Humanitarian Award

In 2011, the CAP Foundation introduced the Gene and Jean Herbek Humanitarian Award, an annual award to provide a $20,000 grant to a CAP Fellow who provides leadership in a See, Test & Treat® program. The purpose of the award is to build the impact and extend the reach of the See, Test & Treat program beyond its core services. The Herbek Humanitarian Award is inspired by former CAP President Gene N. Herbek, MD, FCAP, who brought the first See, Test & Treat program to Native American women in South Dakota, and by his wife Jean, who shares his commitment.

2018 Gene And Jean Herbek Humanitarian Award Recipient

Stephen S. Raab, MD, FCAP
University of Mississippi
Medical Center
Cervical and Breast Cancer Screening Pathway Redesign

Leadership Development Award

Among the CAP Foundation’s most enduring programs, the Leadership Development Award introduces young pathologists to the specialty’s issues and leadership opportunities. Providing a stipend cover travel expenses to attend the CAP’s Residents Forum meetings or CAP Policy Meeting, the award enhances each recipient’s education and experience as they become immersed in the issues that confront the specialty and illustrate the necessity of maintaining a patient-centered practice.

2018 Leadership Development Award Recipients

Aadil Ahmed, MD
Loyola University Medical Center
Maywood, IL

Ryan C. DeCoste, BScH, MD
Dalhousie University/QEII Health Sciences Centre
Halifax, NS

Melinda Flores, MD
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Dallas, TX

Pavandeep Gill, MD
University of Calgary
Calgary, AB

Osama Khan, MD
University of Ottawa
Ottawa, ON

Informatics Award

This travel award (up to $1,200) is open to College of American Pathologists (CAP) Junior Members (pathology residents) to attend informatics-based educational sessions at the CAP’s annual meeting. The field of pathology has experienced dramatic growth in the area of informatics, clinical applications, standardized reporting and laboratory test utilization, electronic health records, workflow, and patient safety. Experts attribute the growth to external financial and health care pressures. Award recipients will receive exposure to real-world, practical applications in the ever-evolving field of informatics at the CAP’s annual meeting. They will have direct access to industry leaders and a choice of several courses presented by experts in the informatics field. The award is made possible through the generosity of the Dito family and donors to the William R. Dito, MD, Fund for Informatics.

2018 Informatics Award Recipients

James Alex Mays, MD
University of Washington
Seattle, WA

Michelle R. Stoffel, MD, PhD
University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
Madison, WI

Medical Student Travel Award

The Medical Student Travel Award is intended to encourage and support medical students showing a strong interest in the specialty of pathology as a career choice. This award provides funding, to cover travel expenses up to $1,200, to attend the CAP Annual Meeting, where awardees will gain valuable insight and critical knowledge from experts regarding the field of pathology and career pathways.

2018 Medical Student Travel Award Recipients

Mary Claire Cotner
University of Pikeville-Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine
Pikeville, KY

Elizabeth Doughty, PhD
Larner College of Medicine, University of Vermont
Burlington, VT

Lindsey K. Flaquer, BS
College of Human Medicine, Michigan State University
Grand Rapids, MI

Elicia Goodale
Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, Florida Atlantic University
Boca Raton, FL

Brett R. Kurpiel
University of Virginia School of Medicine
Charlottesville, VA

Austin J. McHenry, BS
Stritch School of Medicine, Loyola University Chicago
Maywood, IL

Albert Sy, BSN RN
University of Arizona College of Medicine
Tucson, AZ

Emily A. Towery
UT Southwestern Medical Center
Oak Ridge, TN

Blair Watson, BS
University of Texas Medical Branch
Galveston, TX

Connor R. Zuraski
Saint Louis University School of Medicine
St. Louis, MO

More information about the CAP Foundation’s grants and awards, as well as the application process, is available here.