2021 Award Winners

The CAP Foundation recognizes and rewards current and future leaders in pathology. For 2021, the foundation is proud to acknowledge the contributions of an outstanding group of award recipients for their work in advancing pathology and promoting our shared values.

Gene And Jean Herbek Humanitarian Award

The Gene and Jean Herbek Humanitarian Award, introduced in 2011, is named in honor of Gene N. Herbek, MD, FCAP, a past president of the CAP who brought the first See, Test & Treat program to Native American women in South Dakota, as well as for his wife, Jean, who continues his commitment. The award honors a pathologist leader who has made innovative and unique contributions to advance the See, Test & Treat program.

2021 Gene And Jean Herbek Humanitarian Award Recipient

Laura P. Jimenez-Quintero, MD, FCAP
Precise Pathology Associates, PLLC
The Woodlands, Texas

See, Test & Treat Outstanding Partner Award

The See, Test & Treat Outstanding Partner Award, established in 2019, compliments the Herbek award by recognizing and honoring a non-pathologist partner for their contribution and service in support of the See, Test & Treat program.

2021 See, Test & Treat Outstanding Partner Award Recipient

Judy Huie-Kennedy
Montefiore Medical Center
Bronx, NY

Leadership Development Award

Among the CAP Foundation’s most enduring programs, the Leadership Development Award introduces young pathologists to the specialty’s issues and leadership opportunities. Providing a stipend toward travel expenses to attend the CAP Residents Forum meetings or Policy Meeting, the award enhances each recipient’s education and experience as they become immersed in the issues that confront the specialty. This immersion illustrates the necessity of maintaining a patient-centered practice.

2021 Leadership Development Award Recipients

Evi Abada, MD
Wayne State University/Detroit Medical Center
Detroit, MI

Adesola Akinyemi, MD, MPH
University of Chicago/NorthShore University HealthSystem
Evanston, IL

Kanika Arora, MD
Henry Ford Health System
Detroit, MI

Amanda Herrman, MD, PhD
McGovern Medical School at the University of Texas
Houston, TX

Maria Cristina Magallanes Hoyos, MD
Oregon Health and Science University
Portland, OR

Andrii Puzyrenko, MD, PhD
Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, WI

Aayushma Regmi, MBBS
Loyola University Medical Center
Maywood, IL

Jayalakshmi Venkateswaran, MD
Danbury Hospital
Danbury, CT

Informatics Award

The field of pathology has experienced dramatic growth in the areas of informatics, clinical applications, standardized reporting and laboratory test utilization, electronic health records, workflow, and patient safety. Experts attribute the growth to external financial and health care pressures.

Award recipients will receive exposure to real-world practical applications in the ever-evolving field of informatics via the annual meeting. They will have direct access to industry leaders and a choice of several courses presented by experts in the informatics field.

2021 Informatics Award Recipients

Alaaeddin Alrohaibani, MD
Oregon Health and Science University
Portland, OR

Jonathon He, MD, PhD
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Dallas, TX

Ashley Hein, MD
University of Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, NE

Clarissa Jordan, MD
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN

Huihua Li, MD, PhD
University of Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics
Madison, WI

Matthew Luo, MD
University of Utah Department of Pathology
Salt Lake City, UT

Medical Student Travel Award

The Medical Student Travel Award is intended to encourage and support medical students showing a strong interest in the specialty of pathology as a career choice. This award provides a stipend toward travel expenses to attend the CAP Annual Meeting, where awardees will gain valuable insight and critical knowledge from experts regarding the field of pathology and career pathways.

2021 Medical Student Travel Award Recipients

Andrew Biesemier
University of Mississippi Medical Center
Jackson, MS

Anna Bouck
Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth
Hanover, NH

Christopher Dilli
Saint Louis University
St. Louis, MO

Shivam Kaushik
Rowan University School of Osteopathic Medicine
Stratford, NJ

Margarita Loxas
Creighton University School of Medicine
Omaha, NE

Joseph Maniaci
University of Virginia School of Medicine
Charlotte, VA

Lauren Miller
Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, WI

Damien Roland
University of Mississippi Medical Center
Jackson, MS

Cooper Schwartz
Alpert Medical School at Brown University
Providence, RI

Brandon Taylor
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX

John H. Rippey Grant for Expedited Research

This grant honors the memory of John H. Rippey, MD, an advocate of the CAP who was devoted to improving laboratory quality assurance. The CAP Foundation has repositioned the grant to provide funding for investigation of the impact of COVID-19-related tests, principally nucleic acid amplification and serologic methods, on patient outcomes, including studies related to test accuracy, timeliness, and result communication. Applicants must demonstrate how their projects support quality assurance, quality and/or process improvements in pathology, or patient safety, with the result of improved patient care.

2021 John H. Rippey Grant Recipients

Di Tian, MD, PhD, FCAP
Tulane University School of Medicine
New Orleans, LA

Harsimar Kaur, MBBS
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD

Translational Diagnostics Advanced Training Grant

This grant offers CAP Junior Members hands-on exposure to ways in which novel histopathology-based diagnostic assays are developed. Under the direction of Ventana’s chief medical officer, Shalini Singh, MD, FCAP, recipients tailor their experience to explore R&D innovation, scientific and clinical affairs, digital pathology and whole slide imaging, platform and instrumentation development, and/or tissue sample management.

2021 Translational Diagnostics Grant Recipients

Kelly Olson, MD
University of Wisconsin Hospitals and Clinics
Madison, WI

Rebecca Rojansky, MD
Stanford University Hospital
Stanford, California

CAP21 Virtual Global Pathology Education Award

In an effort to improve global health by increasing the exchange of information on the science of pathology, the CAP Foundation has developed the Global Pathology Education Award. This award provides international pathologists practicing in medically under-resourced areas with complimentary registration to attend the CAP21 virtual annual meeting. Awardees gain access to outstanding continuing education in all pathology specialties taught by world-class experts.

2021 Global Pathology Education Award Recipients

Ruth Abera Alemayehu, MD
St. Peter’s Specialized Hospital, Ethiopia

Sahar Ali Mohamed Rozza, MD
Al Galaa Teaching Hospital, Egypt

Mesfin Asefa Tola, MD
St. Paul’s Hospital Millennium Medical College, Ethiopia

Teresa Cherop Lotodo, MBCHB
MOI University Teaching and Referral Hospital and AMPATH, Kenya

Juan Pablo de Leon Fajardo, MD
Roosevelt Hospital, Guatemala

Helen Mary Robert, MBBS
College of Physicians & Surgeons, Pakistan

Caroline Ngimba, MD
Muhimbili National Hospital, Tanzania

Truong Nguyen Phan Xuan, MD
Cho Ray Hospital, Vietnam

Nisha Sharma, MD
Maharajgunj Medical Campus, Tribhuwan University Teaching Hospital, Nepal

Manisha Shrestha, MD
Patan Academy of Health Sciences, Nepal

More information about the CAP Foundation’s grants and awards, as well as the application process, is available here.